South Asian Heritage Month

South Asian Heritage Month has been held for the last 3 years from the 18th July to the 17th August. It is used to celebrate the cultures and communities that make up South Asia and learn more about the diverse history of those from South Asian Heritage.

South Asia is rich in the amount of cultures and communities it houses, with 8 countries worth of history, traditions, religions and stories. Those 8 countries include; Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, The Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Each country has its own unique and deep history, with a common trait of having been impacted greatly by the British Empire which left its mark on each of these countries in different ways. Today these countries, their ancestors and children have made a big impact on the British way of living through dishes and foods passed down through generations, cultural arts and music, clothing, and the beautiful blend of languages and dialects.

It is important to continue to celebrate the components that make up the identity of many South Asians all year round, and allow people of South Asian Heritage to share their precious stories from both past and present in order to shape a better future.

Very engaging, interactive. The session went very quickly which is a good sign that we enjoyed the workshop :)
MECC Training Attendee
Top of Page